Generally, whichever video you upload on YouTube is visible to all and can be watched by anyone worldwide.
But what if you don’t want it to be available to be viewed by everyone? YouTube provides you the option to fulfill this need also.
Actually, there are two such options: private video and unlisted video. But both options are different from each other and used for different purposes.
So what does unlisted mean on YouTube? In this article, I will focus on this topic to clearly understand ‘YouTube unlisted meaning’ and how unlisted YouTube videos differ from private and public YouTube videos.
But, to understand how the unlisted YouTube videos differ from the private and public videos, it will be better for you first to understand the private and public YouTube videos and then go through the YouTube unlisted meaning.
Keeping this logic in mind, I have used the same sequence below.
What Is A Private YouTube Video?
The YouTube videos that can be viewed only by the users and the Google accounts, which the uploaders mention, are called private YouTube videos. Such videos offer the following important features and applications:
PS: here, we recommend the top proxy YouTube.
- The private videos don’t appear in the YouTube search results.
- YouTube doesn’t show these videos in suggestions/recommendations also.
- These videos don’t even appear in the video tab.
- No notification will be sent to the subscribers of a channel if a video is uploaded on the channel with the ‘private’ video option.
- The person with whom you share your private video can view it. But if that person further shares that video with his friends, they cannot view it. It simply means that only the uploader can grant permission to a person to watch a private video.
- This option of ‘private’ videos on YouTube allows confidentiality to be easily maintained for a company’s internal information.
- Privately uploading a video on YouTube can save a lot of storage space on your mobile phone.
- This option also helps in privately sharing family videos with the desired people.
What Is A Public YouTube Video?
All videos you upload on YouTube are uploaded as public videos if you don’t change the default setting. These videos in the public setting are visible to everyone, and anyone can watch these videos.
- The public videos appear in the YouTube search results.
- Such videos are also shown in the suggestions/recommendations on YouTube.
- These videos appear in the video tab, as well.
- The subscribers also get a notification whenever a new public video is uploaded to the channel they have subscribed to.
- You can use public videos to boost your brand awareness.
- If you have a business of sharing videos on product reviews, commercial videos, etc., you can use the public video setting on YouTube and share your videos publically.
- Public YouTube videos are also used to increase subscribers to the YouTube channel.
- If you intend to earn money on YouTube, you can use the public setting so that your videos can get more and more views.
Things To Remember While Posting A Video With The Public Setting On YouTube
As you have, now a clear understanding that each video you post on YouTube with a public setting will be visible to everyone; hence, you will have to keep in mind that the video you are going to upload with this setting is not having any objectionable content. That’s because:
- Your friends can laugh at you after watching the video if it contains ridiculous content about you.
- Even your seniors can watch the video.
- The video can go viral and cause a big loss of reputation if it has that kind of content.
What Is an Unlisted YouTube Video?
When it comes to the YouTube unlisted meaning, I would simply say that these are the types of YouTube videos shown on your channel or in the search results. Now the question is who these videos are for and who can watch them.
Actually, such a video can be watched through a link, and those with that particular link can access and watch the video. Such videos have the following features and applications:
- The option for unlisted videos can be found between the option for ‘private’ and ‘public’ while uploading a video on YouTube.
- An unlisted video can be viewed through a link, and you can share this link with anyone.
- You don’t even need a YouTube account to watch such a video. All you need is the concerned link to watch it.
- Unlisted videos neither appear in the search results nor the suggestions.
- No notifications are sent to the subscribers of a channel regarding the unlisted video on the channel.
- These videos don’t even appear in the video tab.
- Using the concerned link, unlisted videos can be shared with anyone. And the users having that link can easily watch the video.
- If the user has the link and further shares it with his friends, they can also view the unlisted video through that shared link.
- You can make use of the unlisted YouTube videos in case you want to conduct a webinar, and there is a need to share the webinar video only with the registered users.
- You sometimes need to get feedback from a closed group for market research. In such cases also, the unlisted video can be used.
- You can use the unlisted videos and share an online link to resume for a job application.
How To Upload Unlisted Videos On YouTube?
If you need to upload a video on YouTube with an unlisted video setting, you can follow the simple steps given below:
- The first step in uploading an unlisted YouTube video is to get logged into your YouTube account or channel.
- Once you are in your YouTube account, you will see a video button available in the upper right corner of the homepage.
- Click on the video button, and as you click on it, it will drop down to a menu in which you will find the option “Upload Video.”
- Then click on the “Upload Video” button.
- Once you click on the “Upload Video” button, it will take you to another page where you will find an option for uploading your video.
- On that page, you have to click on the “Public” option provided below the “Select files to upload.” Once you click on it, it will drop down to a menu where you will also see the option “Unlisted.”
- Select the “Unlisted” option from the menu and then proceed with uploading your video using the “Select files to upload” option. Thus the file that you uploaded will be uploaded as an unlisted video. That’s it.
How To Make A Previously Uploaded Video Unlisted On YouTube?
In your YouTube account, it is very easy to make any of your uploaded videos an unlisted video. All you need to do is just follow the simple steps given below:
- First, you need to sign in to the account you have on YouTube.
- Go to “My Videos.”
- Choose the video you intend to convert into an unlisted YouTube video, then click on the “Edit” button.
- Once you click on the edit button, it will open up the settings of the selected video.
- On the video setting page, you will also see the privacy section showing the privacy options for the selected video. There you will see the options for marking the selected video as a “private,” “public,” or “unlisted” video.
- Select the “unlisted” option.
- Finally, save your change by clicking on “Save Changes.” And that’s it.
Remember that YouTube similarly treats unlisted videos as it treats public videos. There are the same rules and regulations for the control of copyright infringement.
In unlisted videos also, you cannot use copyrighted content for which you don’t have permission.
I hope, by now, you have clearly understood the meaning of YouTube unlisted. And, now you also have a better understanding of the difference between the public YouTube video, the private YouTube video, and the unlisted YouTube video.
Now that there remains no confusion about all these YouTube videos, why not make the most out of these options or settings while uploading videos on a YouTube channel?